A non-Thanksgiving Holiday

This year, I’m just not feeling the whole “Thanksgiving” thing. Don’t get me wrong, the idea of the holiday itself is cool, I know I’ll probably receive a lot of criticism for saying the idea is cool. Let me explain, I feel that we should be thankful and recognize the blessings we receive more than just ONE day out the entire year. I’ve never really been a big fan of Thanksgiving simply because I feel like its a holiday for stuffing your face. People have all but erased the original purpose of Thanksgiving, by replacing the thankfulness with football and food.

This year for Thanksgiving nearly everyone in my family has to work. With that being said we will be having a small thanksgiving “dinner” in the early afternoon before everyone has to go to work, and then I’ll be spending the rest of the day with my three kids, niece, and older brother. The moment I get home and get the girls in bed, I plan to begin decorating for Christmas. I am more than excited for Christmas this year, having kids is more exciting than being a kid on Christmas in my opinion. I can’t wait to see the look on Jadae’s face when she gets to open her presents this year. Next year will be even better since all the girls will be old enough to open their own presents.

Leave a Reply

